Need some advice on SS flue liner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

frenchy85

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
While cleaning my wood burner today I noticed the clay flue liner has a pretty good crack in it right above where the clay liner coming through the foundation (wood burner is in basement) meets it. The vertical clay liner is 6.5" x 6.5" inside measurements by 18.5' to the top. The clay liner going through the foundation is 8" round. So now I want to line it with a stainless steel liner. I have a bunch of questions. First and foremost is this something I can do myself? I'm a carpenter and know my way around a house pretty good but this is all new territory to me. I'm thinking 5" liner will be the way to go, but should I go with rigid or flexible? I'm kind of leaning towards rigid (but not dead set on it) as I think it would be easier to clean. If I go with rigid how do I get the elbow in? Or should I put a tee in instead of an elbow to allow creosote to fall down into the clean out? If so how do I get that in? I have 8" stove pipe coming out of the wood burner, should I reduce it coming out of the wood burner or continue using 8" stove pipe and reduce it at the foundation? Once the new liner is in does it have to be insulated? Any recommended brands of pipe out there? I greatly appreciate any advice you guys can give me.