New to Milling ????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redoakneck

Addicted to ArboristSite
. AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I am new to milling. This is my situation.

I have a 7900 with hd air fiter. I can sharpen my own chains. Free trees all over, walnut, locust, sycamore, ash, oak, elm and maple. Mostly 16-28" diameter at the trunk at shoulder height. I do not have much help and work alone mostly.

I was going to get the 36" alaskan mill, a helper handle, brackets, woodland ripping chain for a 28" bar, and an auxiliary oiler. I will set up a pulley system to pull the saw thru the wood. I will mill most of the trees where they fall into as big of boards as I can carry/load.

1- Is ripping chain a lot better than cross-cut chain?? It is cheap, but a few
have said you don't need it.
2- Am I going to kill my saw?? I have 2 extra air filters to change out on site as
needed.
3-Do you spray or coat the ends of the boards/logs??
4- Any comments appreciated.
5-Where do I get a remote throttle for a ps-7900

pete

Pete,

I have the 36" Alaskan mill as well. I am running a jonsered 2186 with a 36" bar, I have the external oilier as well; my widest cut can be about 30". Most of my milling is done where I felled the tree, sometimes I will move it with an ATV or my winch and trailer (customer's yard).

You want to get the ripping chain, it is designed for milling, normal crosscut chain is not the way to go. I do most of the milling by myself and I do not use a pulley system.

I use a cheap and efficient rail system made of a 2"/ 12"/ 10' reinforced with angle iron to make sure it is not warped. I wear antivibe gloves, goggles and a handkerchief around my face. My the time you had your pulley set up, I would be most of the way through the log, is my thoughts.