Newbie Rec climber looking at trees....Correctly Pruned?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chicoyoung

Reaction score
I am new to climbing and new to the form but I have spent some time reading many of your conversations especially on injuries and fatalities. Thank you for posting your stories.

I began this journey about 6 months ago with and interest to learn to tie knots. I stumbled upon the figure 8 on a bight knot that could be used in life support and the wheel kept turning from there. I ordered Peter Jenkins DVD "Tree climbing basics" since I thought that would be a good place to start, from there I have ordered Jerry Beranek's DVD " Working Climber Access and movement through the tree, The tree climber's companion and taken a few of the online classes from the ISA website. It didn't take long to realize the ones who knew most about tree climbing even from a recreational side where Arborists.

I believe the safety aspects of tree climbing lends itself to Arborculture: Tree biology, tree identification, potential hazards, learning and having respect for trees.

When I was in my twenties I found myself driving around peeking out the window looking at women, now in my mid forties I am peeking out looking at trees. I am wondering if any of the Pro's or Non Pro's can comment on a few of these pruned trees in my area. I do not know the company who pruned these trees but it seems like the protocol here in Southern California is to strip the inside or thin the crown and shape it like a ball or mushroom top. The first tree a Knobecone or Grey pine, the second is a Chinese Elm, and the Third is a Carrotwood. To me the Pine looks a bit naked, the Elm looks like it got beaten up and the Carrotwood got a buzz cut. What is your opinion? Is this normal in your area too, maybe at the request of the owner or property manager.

Attachments

• DSC00725.JPG