Oak tree is bleeding black fluid

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pankaj Shah

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a newbie to this forum, having just discovered it this morning.

I have a big (~40-foot) beautiful 30-year old Coastal Oak in my front yard. It seems stressed because there are multiple spots from where it is bleeding a black fluid.

Now, the tree is in what used to be a sloped front yard, which was raised by more than 2 feet of dirt/compost to have a more level yard, with a lawn on it. We did not put any irrigation to ensure that the tree's roots get water or anything else directly. Could this be the reason that the tree is stressed and is showing this symptom? There also appear to be cankers according to one tree professional my wife met yesterday.

If you have ideas for what I could look into or do, I would love to hear them.

Thanks in advance,
Pankaj

None of that is good. Changing the grade is more then likely the cause of all those problems. Some type of fungal infection is probably going to kill your tree. Cankers or mushrooms mean the root are infected, phytophthroa or beetles can cause bleeding I believe.
Removing dirt and inspection of the roots should be one of the first actions. Calling an arborist who can properly diagnose and treat your tree should be done as soon as possible if you value your tree.

None of that is good. Changing the grade is more then likely the cause of all those problems. Some type of fungal infection is probably going to kill your tree. Cankers or mushrooms mean the root are infected, phytophthroa or beetles can cause bleeding I believe.
Removing dirt and inspection of the roots should be one of the first actions. Calling an arborist who can properly diagnose and treat your tree should be done as soon as possible if you value your tree.