Oregon vs Stihl bars and chains

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kcurbanloggers

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey all,
I run an Ms441cm with a 25in bar in on it. Recently, however, I’ve been finding myself cutting a lot bigger wood — not quite frequently enough to justify a bigger saw, but often enough that I think I should pick up a bigger bar and chain. I was planning on getting a 32in with skip chain and maybe gearing down the sprocket to 7 tooth. Since I’m not going to be using the 32 all that often, I was hoping I could get away with an Oregon bar and chain. They are half the price of stihl, which is pretty appealing, but I have no experience running Oregon, so I am not sure if they hold up. I have always used stihl. What’s been your experience with the Oregon chains? How much quicker do they dull compared to stihl? How are the bars? Do they hold up? Any insights would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

For occasional use, Oregon bars are more than sufficient. Their rails are generally not quite as hard as Stihl bars or other top shelf brands, but there are lots of guys running them every day. Personally I prefer Oregon chain because it is a little softer. It's easier to file than Stihl chain which is nice.

I will say that a reduced weight bar on that saw will be much nicer than a standard bar, but if you're trying to save money that's not gonna work. I'll also say to call Gregg at Left coast supplies. He stocks Oregon bars and chains at great prices and good shipping prices too.

Check out Forester Platinum bars. IMO, just as good as Stihl. And I run Husky chains, a 1/3 less then Stihl, and are equal.

Does forester make 32in platinum? I can’t seem to find any. If they’re out there it seems like that would be a great option.

And I run Husky chains, a 1/3 less then Stihl, and are equal.