owb tip

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bnew

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Ive been heating with an owb for 5 years now, in two different houses. I save a lot of wood by running mine much cooler than recomended.Try lowering your water temp and let the furnace blower run a little longer.In a crappy insulated farm house(2465sf)I was burning about 7 cords insulated pipe above ground.

My Woodmaster came set 160 on 170 off. I found that that side arm water heater heats a lot more water when the OWB is set at 180 than 170 so I set it up to 180 on the weekends when the wife is running the washing machine around the clock. I also have found that it seems to burn quite a bit more wood (given what is being asked of it), at 180 than at 170 so what you say makes sense to me. I also found that the inside of the OWB stays much cleaner when set at 180 than 170 but thats really not much of a factor. What temps are you running?

I don't know how true it is but I've read that low boiler temperatures can result in corrosive condensation forming inside the firebox and can lead to shorter firebox life.

Agreed on the corrosion point.

I don't see how a lower temperature is going to be anymore efficient than higher temperatures given your heat losses are going to be the same regardless. After all the OWB is merely making up the heat loss from transfer to the house and the heating of the house. It's not like starting at zero everytime. Maybe I'm missing something in a simple algebraic equation.

I also run my Boiler at 165* on and 175* off. Does seem to use less wood. Also the pumps seem to like the cooler temps as well.