Paying Dues

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

klickitatsacket

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Winlock, Wa. under the shadow of Mt. St. Helens
Just a little story from the shop today. I been down for the most part this week and finally got the chance to work on a R & D saw today that has been under the bench for the last 2 weeks. I have been slowly building up a Stihl 026. This is my first 026 that I have modified. When ever I modify a saw model that I have never worked on before I like to start off slowly and gradually build it up. I am currently on my 4th tear down of this particular saw. The reason I am on this particular tear down however is not because I was unhappy with my results but because it was time to pay some back dues. I sucked an injector into the cylinder. Ouch!!!! Here is the story. I started building this with the following: I decked the the cylinder, raised my transfer ports, opened up the exhaust and opened my muffler up. Next I added a boost port and a 046 carburetor. This was done gradually over time working up and not all at once. (for Crofters sake) Now on my boost ports I actually have a brass insert I use. The saw WAS running really well. Not a barn burner but a rather mild 13,800 with great torque. I was running a 20" bar with round filed chisel tooth full skip. I was going through a 16" fir log in about 7.5 seconds. Nothing great yet I realize. I was not finnished yet either. I am having an air flow problem. I will be going to a K & N filter next. I believe this will fix my problem. Any how the dues part: I hummmin' along putting on a show for the guys across the street at the auto parts store... clank, clank, clunk. I sucked the brass injector into the cylinder. :cry: The good news is that because it was brass the damage was minimal. The bad news is every one at the auto parts store had a good laugh at my expense. What