Please explain this type of cut

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BryanEx

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am not a pro tree guy but am experienced in managing my woodlot for maple syrup production and want to ask about the type of cut used on this poplar. I had a healthy 40ft poplar on the edge of my lawn that had curved toward the open sunlight and the power line for my house. It was not over the power line or at risk of damaging anything but would only get worse as time went on so I wanted it removed. To put it on the ground would require droping it to the side of it's natural lean at about 45 degrees to miss the power line. I was 95% sure I could do it which means I am not qualified to do it and hired a tree service. I had asked them to just drop it and leave everything behind which was done while I was not home. Tree was cut as one piece and I don't know if a side tie was used. At first I though the stump had been notched for use with a tree jack but when I fit the pieces together there was no space for that. It looks like a straight cut was done of both sides, a tiny notch on the front, then vertical plunge cuts each side. Finally a plunge cut from the back to release it. How does this cut control the direction of a side leaning tree? I would think the trunk would be at risk of splitting if this cut had side weight on it to one side or the other.

Attachments

• 20210823_183249.jpg
    20210823_183249.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 56
  • 20210823_183311.jpg
    20210823_183311.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 56
Also known as a tongue and groove. It has its uses.

I have a medium size pin oak that will need that style of cut.

Can someone explain the conditions in which this cut would be useful/needed?
I always thought it was just for fun - but maybe I've missed an opportunity to fell a tree better/more safely...