Poulan 3400 CV

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djd_201

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
It's my first time here on the forum, so I hope I am in the right thread for the subject content. We just purchased a used 3400 CounterVibe Poulan 20" chain saw, and its in really good shape. Problem is. I can't keep it running. I took it to a local shop which stays pretty busy (or I would have just left it for repairs) and they said it would need either a gas filter, filter for the carb or a carb rebuild @ $30 + kit. They noticed the high speed and low speed mixture needles were backed out way too far, and of course it wouldn't stay running or run at high speed with them set properly OR all turned out to the extreme. Excuse all the long-windedness but I am trying to included any info that I can to help with the diagnosis.

So my question is, any tips on getting to, replacing the gas filters? Any words of wisdom and wit on checking for possible tweaks and fixes? Any help would be appreciated.

I don't have a comlete parts list but found 'some' info for the saw on Poulan's part list site. They don't have a manual for it, but I found some on Ebay for the 3400 and 3700. No extensive break down or R&R diagrams for a newbie like me. I am 50 years old and have 'some' degree of mechanical knowledge, but I am no carb man fer sure.

Thanks in advance.

Drew in Missouri

Last edited:
It's a used poulan what did you expect

That saw sells new out of the box at Wal mart for about 100 dollars. Even as an occasional use saw it will crap out and give you problems within a year. I've killed them in as little as 3 months just clearing land. Throw the saw away and get a Stihl, or Husky.

Welcome to AS, DJD_201.