Problem with Harv's Sales in Detroit MI

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gr8scott72

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I've been trolling around on here for awhile and finally decided to post. It's kind of a negative post but hope it provides a warning to some and maybe someone can offer some help.

I sell used cars for a living and love it but I want to do something on my own. I would love to have my own car lot but the amount of money I would need would put that many more years down the road. I have often thought about starting my own stump grinding business and finally decided to do so. I think I have read everything on the internet that there is about grinding and have talked extensively to a local grinder to whom I sold a truck to. He has been very helpful.

I believe in paying for every piece of equipment with cash and was really wanting a Carlton 7015 but didn't quite have that much money. I decided it would be better to just go ahead and get something smaller and get started now instead of waiting til I could afford the larger machine.

I have scoured all the equipement classifieds and finally settled on a 2005 Rayco 1625 with the 25 horse Kohler. It was being sold by Harv's Sales (Harv's Tree Service) and showed under 100 hours and the description was "like new". I thought the price was a little high at $9,800 but was willing to pay it for an under 100 hour machine. We worked a deal out and ended up paying $9,500 for the machine and $800 for shipping.