Replace my Vigilant? How much better is a new stove?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

graycenphil

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have been using my Vermont Castings Vigilant for about 20 years, and it works fine. But I hear the newest stoves are much cleaner burning, and more efficient. How true are the claims?

Will I need significantly less wood? If it’s more efficient, I should be gettting more heat from less cords of wood? Enough to notice the difference?

Is it significantly cleaner? Can I clean the chimney less often?

If I do get a new one, any specific recommendations? I would like at least as much heating, so a fairly large stove. Catalytic or non?

Thanks.

How long of a payback period are you looking at? Is the cost of a new stove worth it? In my case, the answers were too long and no so I have the one in my sig yet today. I have an ok supply of wood, it's cheap, and the new stoves cost too much for me...

That being said, the new stoves will burn cleaner and longer, and so the wood use would be less and chimney cleaning 'might' be less. But whether it's worth it for you is something that depends on your situation.

Thanks Stumpy. I’m okay with the cost; I had my last stove for decades and I’d hope to have the new one for a long time too. My Vigilant is pretty beat up and not nearly as attractive as it used to be. And it needs some new parts, so I don’t mind spending some money for a new stove. I’ve saved so much on heating oil, and I have the savings in the bank to get a new stove.

I just don’t want to get one, then find out it’s really no better (or even worse) than the old one.