Replacement grinder teeth

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

purplewg

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hi folks a newbie here. I mainly do all my own tree/stump work but I have 3 farms to maintain and the pine beetles got me last year. I cut down around 20 big yellow pine trees as a result. In the past I have rented but due to the sheer amount I need to do at the three sites I decided to buy a stump grinder.

I am on my way this morning to pick up a used Rayco 1625 (2001). I looked and wanted the Vermeer SC252 but I liked the 4 wheels on the Rayco. I have used the 252 several times and just don't like that single steering end wheel.

So, I am sure this thing will need new grinding teeth and wanted some input as to what to do. Do I buy regular replacements or after marker teeth?

Initially I am looking at grinding around 40-50 stumps and then just every now and then a couple.

Lets eee while not a pro I have down over 200 trees in my life, took one huge pine down from the top down, ground probably 50 stumps, and trimmed more limbs with a pole saw than I care to remember.

thanks for the inputs. I have read a bunch here but never posted.

Spring for the greenteeth or yellow jackets.
You will have to buy bolts pockets and teeth as a package,but the small powered grinders really benefit from them a lot.

1.Once you change over,you can change individual teeth with a 3/8 ratchet.
2.You can rotate them [greenteeth have 3 positions] after they get dull on one side.
3.They cut better.

I think a chang over set will cost about $350.00 then replacement teeth are about $10 for the GT.

Not sure if YJs fit anything but Vermeer.

Welcome to AS

Thank I saw the greenteeth and wondered if they were worth the money.

Picked up the grinder yesterday in the cold, rainy, freezing temps. I see a couple things I need to correct but need a manual I guess.