Rope and hitch cord for beginner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Paul16

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been climbing for about 6 months now and am thinking about buying my own rope and hitch cord soon. I climb with a micro pulley and a VT hitch. Any suggestions?

I think a lot comes down to preference. The various prusik cords work differently depending on the thickness and slickness of your rope. I bought this:
https://www.treestuff.com/store/catalog.asp?category_id=20&item=11163
Then I experiment and just see what i like the best. Next time I buy Prusik cord I can just select the one I enjoyed the most and get a bunch of it. As far as rope goes, I think there a re a lot of good options out there. I have found that climbing by hand (rather than using an ascender) means I like a thicker rope. Thinner stuff tends to bite in to my hands and become uncomfortable if I have a ways to go.

I've never climbed with a vt and micro pulley. I mainly only do base anchor srt with a hitch hiker now but when I did ddrt I used arborplex 1/2, It's cheap and really abrasion resistant. When I first started I never used a friction saver and the rope never got that bad. Beeline and Ice tail is all I've tried for srt hitches and they are fine.

My favorite is a 4 wrap 3 braid VT with teufelberger 9.3mm on Samson velocity. Or vortex.. whatever the 11.1mm stuff is. Buttery smooth.

I also like 10mm armor pruss on 11.7mm tachyon with a 4/1 micho. Opens up fast, fast. So... keep that in mind I guess.

Gotcha, that makes sense. I find with some VT hitch + rope combinations I have to manually push the knot up for it to grab and hold my weight after I've taken in some slack. Is that normal?