Saw Maintenance

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ciscoguy01

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I searched for something like this and couldn't really find specific answers for what I was looking for so here goes...

How often does everyone Clean their air filter? Change spark plugs? Blow out your saw. Give a good general once over to make sure everything is tip top? My 266XP was running like crap today, so I brought it home and blew out the air filter, changed the plug, tuned the rev, blew it out, more or less gave it the once over. It's running like a champ again thank goodness. I've been running it for maybe 1-2 months now and haven't done a thing, it's prolly cut 10-20 face cord of wood I'd say. My 041's on the other hand have cut twice that much and just seem to keep going and going and never need a bit of adjustment or plug replacement or anything and they always run tip top. Is there more tuning/maint. involved with huskies over the Stihls? Anyone notice this? Or was it just time? How often do you do all of the above eh? Thanks all...

Blow off the saw/clean it after each heavy use. Air filter cleaned on the husky's and dolmars whenever it starts to get dirty. Air filter on the stihls get shaken and blown off about every other tank of fuel.

Spark plugs about one a year. I try to change the filter once a year also. Carb kit once every two years or if it starts acting up before hand.

It might be redundant, but I baby my saws. A saw is only as good as the maintence it recieves....