Should I become an Arborist (tree climber)?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ozren

Reaction score
Hello,

I would like to get a feeling if becoming a tree climber is the right choice for me. I have been reading the forums in order to get a feel for what this line of work means and requires. It is very appealing to me in text, but any reality checks or advice you good people can provide on embarking on this career path would be much appreciated. So I have the following questions:

Would I be a good fit for this type of work? I am a 26 year old recent graduate from a university honors degree in history. I did very well in school, scoring the best grades of my year although at the end I realized that academia was not for me. I am also an amateur rock climber, mountain biker and an outdoor enthusiast. Hence I love climbing things! However, I have no previous experience with this type of work: I have never handled a chainsaw for longer than a few minutes and I cannot identify trees.

Would a college program be the best way to enter this career? I live in Ontario and Quebec, and I was looking at the program at Fleming College in Lindsay, Ontario. Otherwise there is another shorter program at Humber college. The program at Fleming seems intense, focused and longer, which really appeals to me since I am good at learning and love to take my time.

Thank you for your time and help.

I probably don't do as much tree work as many of the guys here do. I do know if I was better fit for climbing I would probably do more. IF you climb rocks I bet you can climb trees

the difference is between having fun and doing hard labor.

You climb rocks when you feel like it. Going to college doesn't get you dirty and soar at the end of the day and when you climbing for fun you can take it at your leisure.