silvey prosharp users

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kf_tree

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
i've been playing with a silvey razorsharp for about 6 months now. i can make a decent work chain with it, but my biggest complaint is it takes me so dam long.

i've been thinking about selling it and getting a pro sharp, for those of you running a pro sharp how much faster is it than a razorsharp? if it just gives more precise control but still takes the same amount of time the square grinding is not for me. i'm just getting fustrated that it takes me so long to gind a chain, then i have to clean the gullets and hit the rakers

rahtreelimbs said:
Ken don't you have a machine to do the rakers?

yes, i do rich

that baby was worth every penny, it is so simple and fast to use, everyone should own one. but , by the time i grind the chain on the razor sharp, hit the gullets and rakers i have almost 40min into a dam chain. with a round file i could be done in 10min.

I don't touch up the gullets and rakers every time. Maybe every third sharpening.

You may want to downgrade to a Swing Arm. I can do a chain for a 16 to maybe a 24 inch bar in about 10 minutes. The first sharpening takes a while because the angles really need to be changed. Once the angles on the cutters match my wheel, then each subsequent sharpening is really just a touch up, with maybe three little "taps" against the wheel to restore the edge.

Of course, we may have different standards as to what constitutes a sharp chain...

rahtreelimbs said:
Hey Dennis, as I understand it, the Swingarm is better than the Razur-SharpII..........care to elaborate!!!