single rope climbing or classical method

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cutter300

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am a beginner and I am seeking advice on what method of climbing for tree care is best, the single rope technique or the classical method with split tail? I have heard that the SRT system does not offer the best mobility but I don't understand why. Thank you.

Another point in favor of traditional for a beginner is that SRT is much more complicated, and there are a lot more ways for something to go awry. Definitely learn the traditional method first!

Ummm, I like classical, but am considering trying the jazz method.....:monkey:

The cost of the equipment for the traditional double rope technique is cheaper which is also a plus. Other than the belt, rope, split tail kit, foot ascender, figure 8, lanyard, helmet, extra carabiner, what else might I need or may come in handy?

I am looking into the Petzl Vario Sit Work Saddle. It is reasonably priced, supposedly comfortable and provides good mobility.

As far as rope is concerned I will possibly go with the arborplex. The only drawback to it which I see is that it is not splicable.

I don't know what carabiners to go with as of yet.

I would appreciate any input you might have on this equipment. Thanks to all.

I use Arbormaster rope. I like how it wears over time and how it feels in the hand. I don't climb with gloves (old rock climbing habit), so subtle differences in rope feel make a huge difference over time. I also don't use a foot ascender (although I should sometime). I prefer to carry a few prussic loops, that can be used for multiple purposes, and a few webbing loops. I try not to carry much single purpose equipment, in order to lighten the overall load. I do use an "8". But again, I use it for multiple purposes like lowering limbs from above as well as lowering myself.