Small Chipper in a Trailer. Am I Crazy?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

waross

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
So I am new to the business side of tree service. And so far I have not gone into debt. I am basically a one man operation with a couple of part time employees to serve as ground crew.
I was given the chipper in question so don't go on about how it is a bad or low end piece of equipment. It was free. I was also given a 35 ton splitter. Never look a gift horse in the mouth.
I am doing mostly pruning jobs with occasional tree removal. I bought a trailer to haul away the cuttings and wood. I am considering mounting the chipper into the trailer towards the front and just have it shoot the chips into the bed of trailer. Still working on how I would mount it. This way my groundies or myself can chip up the limbs and such on sight taking up less room in the trailer, leaving room for any wood over 5" in diameter.
The other option was to bring all the clipping back home and chipping them all here in the back of the lot. But then I might be filling the whole trailer up pretty quick with clippings and such.
I included some pics.
I appreciate any positive advise your willing to provide, Just save the flaming of the piece of equipment. LOL
Chipper Trailer01.jpg Chipper Trailer02.jpg Chipper Trailer03.jpg

Not flaming, but try the chipper out to figure out it's true capacity. I doubt that it would chip up to 5" diameter logs. Personally, I burn stuff over 1.5" diameter, so it would not be a problem for me.

You will need some kind of shroud on your trailer to collect the blown chips, and to contain them during transport. Stack the other limbs on top.

Since the chipper is small, I would not mount it on the trailer, but use the ramp to just take it when needed. That gives you more versatility in using the trailer.

JMHO

Philbert