Starting a business, have questions.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RhodyFresh

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm new to this so please excuse any mistakes. I've been visiting this site for a while, but now I'm ready to belly-up to the bar with some questions of my own. Here's my deal: 27 years old, live in southern New England, love trees, and I'm starting my own business.
Question 1: What is a fair hourly rate for a two person crew doing HIGH quality work.
here's the set-up, toyota tacoma with a chip box and 6" chipper(renting for now) certified, licensed, insured and eager as could be and completely in love with the work. 5 years climbing and for 3 years before that I worked as a rigger/operator for my father's crane svc.
What do you think?
Can you help me out?http://www.arboristsite.com/images/smilies/blob_fire.gif
:blob2:

true

this is true, very fast, but its all I have FOR NOW. I'm working on getting a bigger truck and my own chipper, and believe me this will happen sooner than later. However the question still stands: What about a fair hourly rate in this part of the country? You are from Boston right?

Is there another Dirty Bean??

this is true, very fast, but its all I have FOR NOW. I'm working on getting a bigger truck and my own chipper, and believe me this will happen sooner than later. However the question still stands: What about a fair hourly rate in this part of the country? You are from Boston right?

Sorry I missed that question, and skipped to what do you think.

I would say anywhere between $50-100 per man hr. Depends what the market will bear. Doing high end pruning requires high end customers, most of which have a company already. I worked for a tree company out of Newton MA.(just outside of Boston) we had a few clients in Providence.