Stihl 031 gas cap vent?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jcb1100

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
This is my first post, so please be kind. First, let me say that this site is a tremendous resource for us noobs, and it is great that those of you with skills and knowledge are available to help those of us without them.

I have a Stihl 031AV from about 1978 which was my father's. It sat for a long time before I got it running. When it runs, it runs great! I plan to use it as a backup to my MS440, and for small stuff when the 440 is too big (I am not a professional and mostly cut up scrounged wood for firewood). I only intended to replace the impulse tube until I saw the oily sawdust film coating every surface inside! I don't plan a complete restoration, but I will clean it up and replace the usual parts that can go after 30 years.

My question is this. The fuel cap has a vent hole. I have the IPL (and service manual) and I can see the internal parts. I have searched here for gas cap venting issues and I know the vent can get clogged. What I haven't found is the correct way to remove the white plastic insert from the underside of the cap body without damaging either part, to check the parts inside. Does it screw out, or pry out, or something else?

Thanks for any answers. I'm sure I'll have more questions later.

Jim in Pennsylvania

I didn't set out to take it apart, it just worked out that way :)

After I got it running last year, I let it sit too long, and then it didn't run as well as it had. Mostly, it would stall if I backed off the idle speed enough to stop the chain from moving. (I have since gotten new clutch springs in case that was the issue.) It also doesn't like to re-start when it's hot.