Stihl 066 Rookie Rebuild...all hands on deck!

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jjcard41

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! Want to say thank you to everyone in advance for their help.

I am NOT a professional! I heat my house with firewood, so that's what I do 90% with chainsaws. I bought a 461 new quite a few years that I absolutely love, but I wanted something bigger and my uncle happened to have this old 066 sitting around.

I've only used the 066 a couple of times and last time I ran it the chain would not stop running on the bar at idle no what I did for adjustments with the idle and low valves on the carb. So it was spilling bar oil like crazy and very unsafe. I took off the clutch cover and discovered that a spring was busted. I'm posting pictures of everything.
I did the poly rope in the cylinder to stop the piston so I could remove the clutch. Took off the muffler to make sure I had the piston above the exhaust port of the cylinder so I wouldn't get shreds of rope. Then I saw the piston and decided to dig further...

First question:

Should I just order new springs for the clutch or get a new entire clutch assembly? Can anyone tell me if this looks like an OEM clutch? A new OEM clutch is around $90 from my dealer after calling them.

I'm pretty sure the jug and piston is not OEM, so at one time someone did some work to this saw. The piston is scored, but surprisingly it feels fairly smooth with no deep grooves. I tried to take the best pics I could of everything. Of course there is a ton of carbon buildup.

Second question:

What is the best route to go as far as the piston and jug? I'd rather have OEM of course and I know the cost is high compared to AM. Can a person try and salvage the piston? Clean it up I guess.