Stihl MS291 Bar and Chain Getting Too Hot

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

amc019

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to the chainsaw ownership world, but after purchasing 50 acres of wooded and pasture land that needs a lot of cleaning up, I bought my first saw. I had handled other saws of family members before, but didn't know much about them. Just the proper way to use them in order to keep from hurting myself pretty much. Anyway, after doing some research on this forum and others, I purchased a the Stihl MS 291 with an 18" bar and .325 RM3 chain (whatever that means). I also bought the chain sharpening kit at the same time because it seemed pretty much fool proof.

Anyway, after cutting up a few 24-30" oak trees that had fallen during a storm and only needing to sharpen the chain once, I decided to start clearing smaller cedar trees on the property so I could get the bush hog around easier. I cut the first about 10" above the ground, then planned to come back and cut the stump level with the ground. The bottom of the tree was probably only 8-10" in diameter, but the stump ball was quite a bit larger. Soon, the saw became very hot and was spitting smoke and burning the paint off the bar, but I did notice the chain remained oiled. I tried to re sharpen the chain again (hit a rock or two on a few smaller cedars I had cut before) and tightened it up, but the same problem still remains.

I read that sometimes this is caused by over tightening the chain, but it seems that the chain is where it is supposed to be when I pull the slack off the bottom, its got probably 1/4-1/2 of space between itself and the bar, but then it kind of snaps back up against the bar when I let go. I have been tightening it according to the manual, I think.