Thinking of starting a Tree Farm - Am I crazy?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gatorboy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Yes, I am a newbie, and you are thinking, oh no, not another one.

I own 50 acres in Fallston, MD, of which about 20 acres are wooded, and I am considering starting a tree farm. I am trying to research the best I can as quickly as I can for Fall is coming, and I'd like to get some trees and seeds planted before winter.

I've got a Bobcat 873 SSL and a 30" tree spade, and was thinking of transplanting some trees 1" or less from the woods into the open field, as well as harvesting seeds from the trees on the property and planting those in direct seed tubes also in the field.

A picture of a portion of my property

Although I have a hundred questions, I'll just ask a couple for starters. I am planning on planting some Green Ash, White Ash, White Oak, Sycamore, Red Maple, Red Cedar, and Black Walnut.

Q1. From this list, would you suggest I NOT plant any of these, and what if any should I want to plant that is not in my list (i.e. Pin Oak?)

Q2. Is there a demand for trees, and who would be my customers?

Q3. I've read good things about Pot-in-Pot --> any links to sites that sell these containers?

Any help would be appreciated, and I hope to learn a great deal from this forum.

Last edited:
Nice pic

Hey Dave,

Welcome to the site, we were all newbies here at one time. I'm looking at that nice big field and thinking lacrosse nets on either end? :D

It sounds like you have a good start on some real labor saving tools and plenty of stock to pick from. How about red oak or are you too far south? Do you have a lot of deer to contend with. You would probably have to get some protection stuff to keep your small stuff from getting "varmintized". How about irrigation? Things have been pretty dry.