Tips for cutting Large trunks

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

firewoodcutter

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have recently found out my local parks dept. has an area that they take the trees they cut. During business hours they open the gate and allow the public to cut on them. I have not seen very many there compared to the trees that are there.

Of course most of easy cutting has been long gone.

What is left is very large stumps that are several feet in diameter.
Many piled on top of one another Not the best work area for certian.
I am fairly new to cutting my own firewood and could use any tips and pointers.

I am running a 20" bar and am un able to cut through these trunks.

My first attempts involved cutting as far in and as far around as I could manage and then try to wedge out what ever would break away. The outer edges that was seasoned a bit did split out with a quite a bit of effort.

For the most part this was very ineffective. I spent almost 5 hours and had a small load. Scraping the money together for a load of wood sounded soo good after the first day till I looked in my wallet so off I went for a second day.
It is a shame to see most of this wood just rot away but being physically limited at the moment I have to work smarter and not harder. :bang:

If anyone has any tips or suggestions as how to approach these it would be much apperciated!:blob2:

grab a big bar and a full skip tooth chain

grab a 32" bar for your saw assuming one is made for it then grab a full skip chain she will cut half as fast but twice as wide so you get bigger cuts in half the time but you get the cut done and your power head isn't pulling any harder assuming your oiler will put out enough oil for the bigger bar (if it is adjustable crank it all the way up)