To get ISA certified.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bearclaw

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. First I would like to say that this site rocks! There is a wealth of information here that has been invaluable. I especially like Ekka's videos!

Of course I am full of questions, I've been studying and researching for about four months now, and I've had a fair amount of real life experience as an arborist. Of course I'm no where near as good as the pro's around here, but one day I will be!

Anyway...I am looking to get ISA certified, however I am unsure of how to go about it. It have been on the ISA website, but I am unsure of where to go to prep for the exam, whats involved and the money it takes.

If anyone has any helpful information, I would greatly appreciate it. Also if anyone knows of ballpark figures for insurance in Colorado, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks to everyone here who has shared their knowledge!

Getting ISA certification

I've just gone through all this for the arborist certification:

· Go back to the ISA website.
· Click Certification Information (4th link from left, in black bar directly below ISA logo).
· Decide which certification is appropriate for your type of work.
· Click on that link.
· Now click on the link to download the certification application (PDF file).
· Print out the application and read it thoroughly.
· Everything you need to know is in the application ... cost, recommended study materials, passing scores and breakdowns, what to do if you don't pass, etc., etc.
· Finally, click the appropriate link in the light yellow column to find out when and where the various certification tests are being offered. Print it out.