To hone or not to hone...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

afrausini

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all. Thanks in advance for your input. I am a Stihl guy, but all self taught (Youtube, Arboristsite, etc....) Since I retired I have been buying a few saws and my grandson and I repair them and resell. We are both learning so much. I took in a 391 with a lot, and it is all there, looks decent, but the piston is all scoured up. The cylinder does not look that bad. Appears to just have some discoloring. Question on honing. I have zero experience in the machine shop field and have seen these honing devices (that do not appear to be that expensive) If I honed the cylinder lightly, and it cleaned up, do I then take a micrometer and measure the inside diameter of the cylinder and then buy a new piston kit, with oversize rings? How would I know what to order? Or, do I just bite the bullet and buy a new cylinder and piston kit? I couldn't afford OEM, that's for sure. What's your thoughts. Something I should even play with or is it not worth it. Thanks so much !… (**** I grabbed the wrong cylinder for the photos below… photos are of 034av, but the 391 cylinder looks about the same.) thank you all for your comments. have a 391 p/c kit for the 391 on order!

If the piston is torn up, you’ll probably be sanding off the rough spots that are catching and galling. Have fun!

That said, most pistons aren’t that expensive and decent to excellent aftermarket options are available. You might even throw in a pop-up piston and get some extra grunt out of the saw.

That said, pay special attention to the rest of the moving parts of the engine. Seals, bearings, pressure test etc. This saw has been run rough and it’s smart to have your eyes open while you have it open.