want to beggin climing

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
superhaus

superhaus

ArboristSite Lurker
I have been cutting and splitin firewood for 10+ years now and i would like to get into climing does anyone have any suggestions on books or videos to learn the basics, what is the gear i will need to get started? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks

mellonhs

mellonhs

ArboristSite Lurker
I have been cutting and splitin firewood for 10+ years now and i would like to get into climing does anyone have any suggestions on books or videos to learn the basics, what is the gear i will need to get started? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks

Hey man try the search bar at the top right of the page. It helped me out a lot. Theres a lot you need to research to be able to ask this question. Like will you be wanting to spur climb, SRT, DdRT, or??? Like what your budget is? Will you be operating a saw in the tree? Do you want to be able to accend and decent? There are several ways to do all of the above. Bit first u should figure out what type of climbing u want to do and what ur budget is.

VA-Sawyer

VA-Sawyer

Addicted to ArboristSite
Just where in the eastern USA are you? Some members might be willing to provide a bit of time to help a newby. Good advice on getting the book 'Tree Climbers Companion' and reading it cover to cover more than once. There are a number of places you can order it, like SherrillTree, TreeStuff, or Wespur. Check the ads at the top of the page just under the big ArboristSite.com icon.

Tell us a bit more about your background.

Rick

offshoretreeze

offshoretreeze

ArboristSite Lurker
I've read good reviews about the working climber DVDs and arbormaster training DVDs.

Definitely--once you get through TCC, the Working Climber videos are a great next step.