Wedges?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zh farms

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am asking elementary questions here, I know, but what are some good sizes of wedges to start out with? Aluminum, plastic/nylon, or iron? Sorry, but I have never used a wedge before. I usually notch, and drop.

ZH

I started out with the 7 1/2" or 8" yellow ones from Bailey's. They had the ridges/guides which made it nice for stacking.

Over the last while, I have really gotten to like the green 10 inchers from Bailey's. They stack nicely and are reasonably priced. They clean up well when nicked with a chain saw or get busted up with a rafting ax.

The following picture shows one that is pretty rough and the others I have cleaned up with a reciprocating saw. I even use these to fell small diameter trees and they stack pretty well.

Just watch out when they get a little snow in between and the trees are frozen!

attachment.php

Depends I prefer steel for large hardwood trees and trees needing driven
a bit further as I don't care to stack wedges! They both have advantages
and I have several of each but my winch is better than any of my wedges
and it comes in if property is at stake.

You will need both plastic and steel. Plastic for using around the saw, steel for splitting blocks that are already cut. Steel also for falling if you are going to have to really hammer them but there is a danger of hitting them with the saw.

For the steel wedges, shop a couple second hand/pawn shops. They will be cheaper, and likely better quality - almost certainly will require dressing.

I carry 4 plastic (2 long Husky, 2 short unknown brand), and 4 steel.

Harry K

Last edited: