Welding Wood Boiler

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bowtechmadman

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Looking for suggestions...discovered a leak on the inside of my Woodmaster boiler. Leak is about the size of a dime inside the chimney at the top of the water jacket. Discovered when I filled it completely to start it up for the winter. It might be 2" down from the top of the water jacket. How difficult should this be to weld for someone that is skilled? I'm a terrible welder only stick together farm stuff with my old stick welder.
I would imagine the best way might be to cut out the entire chimney and replace instead of patch. Thoughts/suggestions?

Get some pictures if you can. If it's rusted out there it could be all the way around there also. A patch may be easier. How thick is the chimney there?

Pictures are tough since it's inside the chimney...can only access from the inside of the boiler, even during daylight can only see with flashlight. If I pull the stack it would actually be closer to access from the top rather than inside. Definitely no pictures tonight...just washed off all the ash/soot from myself. I'd say 1/8" steel. I scraped good around that area and it seems like that is the only area that is bad.

Pics would be nice. I can weld pretty decent but if you can't then I'm sure you know someone who can. For a hole that close to the top I think I would just weld a patch over it or maybe even just try to weld the hole/crack. It's not a pressure system so doesn't have to be a $200 an hour pro to weld it. I would spend more time looking for more holes than I would doing the welding. Just remember when it rains it pours so there might be other thin spots. Weather is still good enough for a proper repair so don't rush it.