Widow makers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian VT

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Newbie faller here. I've only dropped 20-30. I've been cutting standing dead trees for firewood. Mostly ash and some cherry. Most of them had few, if any, branches left on them. Nice stuff. No limbing!
There's a few trees I've been waiting on because they have branches that look like they have the potential to come down and put a hurtin' on me. I know I need to learn to look up more but I'm finding it hard to do while I'm still learning cutting technique.
I was thinking maybe I could have someone, in a relatively safe spot, looking up while I cut and they could try to warn me (with an air horn?) if something lets go ? Any better ideas ?

Newbie faller here. I've only dropped 20-30. I've been cutting standing dead trees for firewood. Mostly ash and some cherry. Most of them had few, if any, branches left on them. Nice stuff. No limbing!
There's a few trees I've been waiting on because they have branches that look like they have the potential to come down and put a hurtin' on me. I know I need to learn to look up more but I'm finding it hard to do while I'm still learning cutting technique.
I was thinking maybe I could have someone, in a relatively safe spot, looking up while I cut and they could try to warn me (with an air horn?) if something lets go ? Any better ideas ?

Brian, by the time they blew the horn, and you heard it, the branch or top would have already pile drove you into the ground.

One option is to use another three to drive it over, after it's faced up and back cut--with a wedge so it doesn't sit back on you (which holds dangers of it's own), and always look-up, look-up, look-up... I have to always remind myself to look up too, so don't feel alone in that.