wind in the willows: a blowdown

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philoshop

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Went over yesterday to see if my neighbor had any damage from a microburst storm we had on Tuesday. He said he thought there might be a few willow branches on some of his apple trees and that he'd spent the day cleaning up around the area. He's 84 years old and a good friend so I help whenever I can. I walked out back to take a look and found this:
View attachment 296818
Back to the house to get the camera and something for scale. The surveying rod is 10' to the top. The crater is about 2' deep.
View attachment 296823
4' rod and some of the trunk is in the mud. The canopy is smothering 4 or 5 apple trees.
I'll start with the lopping shears to get the stuff off of the apples, they're the priority. But I have no experience with willows and I'm thinking this won't be fun. Alternately springy and brittle from what I hear. Any suggestions?

That rootball is leaning and is gonna flop back over as soon as enough weight is off the tree. Best on blowdowns is get trunk separated from rootball first..CAREFULLY. Easy to get pinched on those cuts, too, I cut like V shaped notches and watch for movement. Just like felling, but, the tree is sideways, with still a lot of weight and gravity involved.

If you want, you could cut some logs and prop that up first, then rope them out later and let it flop back down. I started doing that last summer, works well.

I undercut, then V notch easy like down to it. Dont want the saw pinched or go airborne with the trunk.

Same deal with those big branches to get them down.

The tree climber guys here can describe those cuts better than I can.

Flop that trunk back down in that mudhole and she'll resprout you some new trees :msp_thumbup: