Ya can't win 'em all but this really hurts

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been chasing this grove of Black Locust for about 4 years. I'd get 'wood' every time I went by. County Assessor says Randy is the person paying the taxes. Finally had a good talk with him the other day. He still says it isn't his but knows the guy farming it and the gal that does own it. Apparently his sister but he didn't specify. His opinion is that it needs to be cut and he put in a good word for me. No go. She "has a sentimental value in it" - it was the family home back when; in fact Randy was born in the house that was there.

However: 'sentimental value'?? A couple old falling down, rotting sheds and a bunch of dead/dying trees. Can't explain some peoples taste I guess.

Those trees are huge, Smallest on would be around 30" DBH and I would lay money on some of them going 48"

Randy.jpg

I did get a couple trees at another site out of the conversation though (thread "How not to harvest..."

Harry K

Bottom line is they are hers. If she wants to leave them there until they all fall down, it is nobody's business why. Having owned some timber property it is amazing that people expect to come on the place and cut firewood whenever a tree goes down.

I'd be hard pressed anymore to let anybody on my place with a chain saw. If something were to happen, the insurance folks would be coming after me.

You did the right thing by asking and your foot is in the door if she ever changes here mind.

Bottom line is they are hers. If she wants to leave them there until they all fall down, it is nobody's business why. Having owned some timber property it is amazing that people expect to come on the place and cut firewood whenever a tree goes down.