Ready for next equipment purchase - log removal equipment

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

atothec

Reaction score
My name is Andrew from Huntsville, AL. I started a tree service in March 2017 this year after working 5 or so years in the industry. I'm 29 and I've been a climber/ manager/ salesman for those 5 years. I decided to start small, use friends when I need labor, and use affordable gear except all of my climbing gear and saw which are all top notch. Fully licensed/ insured, etc.
I mostly do small/ medium removals up to 3 or 4ft diameter, stump grinding, pruning, debris removal.
My first large purchase other than climbing gear was a 1992 International 4000 series chip truck and 1995 Asplundh Whisper Chipper combo for about 10k. I've paid it off in about 1 month (profit after costs), and am now looking toward my next purchase.
I am selling my tricked out 4x4 tacoma and will hopefully get about 12-15k out of that. I need to have a truck to tow trailers and equipment.

My question - What would you buy if you needed a tow vehicle and something to deal with logs, and your total budget was about $20-25k

My current thought direction -
$10k full size pickup with gooseneck hitch, maybe dump bed
$3-5k Dump Trailer
$5-10k Mini Loader

I just started 2 months ago and do not have a 100% steady stream of work yet so I'm only keeping one main guy around and using laborers when we have a large amount of debris. We've been disking logs up and hand loading the chip truck, loading my offroad tacoma, etc. I think the mini loader would make the 2 man crew rock.

Thanks for any input and advice,
-Andrew

Attachments

• IMG_0522.JPG
    IMG_0522.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 57
  • IMG_0497.JPG
    IMG_0497.JPG
    3.6 MB · Views: 61
I think for a good truck in your price range I would look for a good older used Ram 3500 Cummins with a manual.