caterpillar INJECTION?????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Themadd1

Themadd1

ArboristSite Operative
So I was looking at a newsletter the other day and saw that there was an injection of acephate that will kill caterpillars.

Arborjet has a system out that I have never used before. I currently use Mauget products and wonder if anyone has opinions on the Arborjet system and/or effectiveness on caterpillars.

Cheers..

Urban Forester

Urban Forester

ArboristSite Guru
I've used the Arborjet Tree IV system for 3 years now on Ashes (EAB) It works well. I like the low pressure/high volume approach. I get complete drain and it's an easy system to work with. The trees appear to be doing well, so far.

Themadd1

Themadd1

ArboristSite Operative
I guess my real concern is whether acephate works on caterpillar through an injection method. Anyway if you have info get it out there.

Thanks,

Themadd1

alanarbor

alanarbor

ArboristSite Guru
I am not sure about the acephate formulation via injection. Reading the label is a good start.

I know there are injectable formulations of abamectin that will give control of caterpillars.

But if you really want it raining dead bugs there's no substitute for bidrin.

Themadd1

Themadd1

ArboristSite Operative
Thanks for the info. I would love to stay away from bidrin if possible. I will check out the abamectin. I have a feeling I will have to stick to my spray formulas for the time being and integrate new weapons as the summer draws near.

Thanks,

THemadd1

John Paul Sanborn

John Paul Sanborn

Above average climber
Acephate is the old strandby Orthene's chemical name. There are many other products using this old organophosphate.