chainsaw carving - best saw?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hepcat

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a chainsaw newbie, looking for a saw to start carving with. Did my chainsaw course on a Husqvarna 346 with a 15" bar, and since then have used a Stihl 021 with a 12" bar and a Stihl 026 with a 15" bar.

Saw will be used mainly for carving medium sized bits of wood, maybe also cutting firewood once a year. Can someone recommend a decent saw please? I've been looking at a Husky 340, 345 or 350 with a 15" bar to start off with, as I have been told to buy either Stihl or Husky.

Thanks,
Joe

I haven't talked to this guy for years, but last time I did, he used only Stihls. His small one was modified with a carver's bar, but still a Stihl.

He does some amazing stuff - best I've ever seen. If you go to Yellowstone and see a well done carving in one of the lodges, it's probably his.

I once watched him take a pine log - about 12" diameter and maybe 26" long, and in 30 minutes turn it into a very nice racoon peeking out of a log, all while keeping up a very entertaining patter to the crowd. He makes it look easy.

This one is really cool:

ITreeMon.jpg

The inside joke is that the Indian chief's face is the face of his father in law, a retired fire cheif who known to all as "Chief".

This is in Idlywild California.

(He picks a mean banjo, too.)

ok, thanks all - what is a decent small Stihl please? Is the 021 still available, or does it have a new number?

Thanks,
Joe

I just bought a truck off a guy who carves, and he uses a Husky 350. I'm a Stihl guy, so I think an 026/260 or the MS210 or 250, even the MS180. I don't know anything about chainsaw carving, but I'd think that weight would be the paramount concern, over hp or torque. All of these saws are 10 lbs or less.