Chainsaw Mill with MS660

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonesie

Reaction score
Picking up my 660 tomorrow, and planning on getting a chainsaw mill shortly. Should I go with a granberg chainsaw mill, and if so, what size? I'm just getting into this so any help would be great. I'm also confused about the ripping chain, should I go through granberg?

Also, I have access to some good size cedars, are they good for milling? I'm going to build a small cabin with some rough cut stuff, what would the cedar be good for?

Thanks guys.:givebeer:

Welcome to the fun-house Jonesie.

Especially for a first time mill, granberg are a well made, easy to use and you won't have many problems. However there other mills out there you could take a look at.

Mill size depends upon bar size and log size. If you are milling 30" or less diam logs I would go with a 36" mill. If you are milling greater that this then you will need to adjust mill length to suit. If you are milling different sizes of logs and can afford it, you could consider buying the basic mill set and two sets of rails, one for smaller logs and one for larger logs.

You can mill with semi chisel chain, full comp, skip, or full skip, or use milling/ripping chain. It depends upon how big the wood is, how powerful your saw is and whether softwood or hardwood. I would suggest starting with full comp semi chisel. It can be resharpened to milling chain.

As for mill size, again, it depends upon the size of wood to be milled. The 36" Alaskan will yield about 34" maximum cut with a 42" bar. Add in the fact that a 30" log will yield about 21" square cant(70%). You can still mill larger logs, but may require some added steps. With the addition of a Granberg Mini Mill, you could make a top cut with the Alaskan, and then square the sides with the Mini Mill, and then even make a vertical center cut to split the log in two.