Craftsman

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tman2381

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm brand new to the site. and had a question. I am also fairly new to cuttin wood. My previous saw was the poulan wild thing 42cc, won't buy one again. It died after three years use. I just bought a new saw last night, It's a CRAFTSMAN(TM/MC) 46 cc Chainsaw with 18" bar antivibe handle. Just wondering what you guys thought of it? I would love to have a stihl But couldn't afford it this time around. I cut about 6 - 8 cord hardwood per year. How to you think the craftsman will do??

Well maybe next time in approx three years I'll get the better one. Oh well I'll see how she runs.

i have the smaller brother (42cc with 18" bar). mine has served very well, its not a stihl or pro quality though, its a rebadged poulan pro. mine now has burned about 10 gallons of mix in is still going as strong as it would anyway.

to better performance with mine, i removed:
1) the muffler innards to help it breath better
2) carb stops to properly adjust it
3) the safety chain and bar for better performance

the only other problem i had with this saw, was the intenz chain adjusting system----just couldnt get it right. you can buy a proper chain/bar adjuster for a couple of buck and put it on.

for the $200 i paid new(case, extra bar and chain, and oil/tools) with the sears warranty i rate this a decent bargin for some light-medium home owner use.

craftsman saws