Dealers don't know about modded saws?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meauran

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello all. First post. I've been lurking over the past week and trying to gather all of the info that I can. I'm thrilled that I found this site, it's a fantastic resource.

I've got a truck load of logs that I am cutting up for firewood and for sale. I probably only use 2 to 3 cords/yr myself, so I figure I'll cut and split the rest and make my money back. This is my first time undertaking such and endeavor and I'm trying to do it right, I'm trying to do it safely and I'm trying to do it efficiently.

I've got a Husky 359 and I think it's a great saw. Works great for what I'm doing with it.

It got into the mid 50s here the other day and I was out cutting on my log pile and I noticed that my saw was getting quite warm around the front hand grip. That's when I found this site. I was trying to figure out if this was anything that I should be concerned about.

At any rate, I'm making a long story longer. I've read about the exhaust modifications and how this saw especially likes the open exhaust. Knowing that one must take any information from the Internet with a grain of salt, I went looking for some local face to face validation of the information I found here. I found NONE. I stopped at a local Jonsered dealer and the guy behind the counter stopped just short of calling me a dope. He tells me that this saw does not have adjustable jets and that because of that I would get no gains from an exhaust modification. In addition, I've read that the Huskys with the green gas caps are the ones with the catalytic mufflers. This guy didn't even know what I was talking about and said that my saw does not have a catalytic muffler. His claim is that the E-tech just means that the saw is tuned lean from the factory in order to pass EPA specifications.