Designing A Boot For You

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DesignGuy000

Reaction score
Hello,
My name is Eric, I am an industrial design student out of Houston, Tx. I am working on several concepts for works boots and the logging industry came up as a market with a lot of brand loyalty and knowledge of what makes a GOOD boot. I was hoping that if you're reading this and have time you wouldn't mind leaving a few comments.

So my question is " What is one thing you wish was different about your current pair of boots?"
It can be as general as " They're too heavy" or specific "I wish I was able to sprint in them" or" I want to be able to go from climbing to walking in as little time as possible"

If when you comment you can say what kind of boots you have that would help!
(ex. Georgia 9" Waterproof Logger Boot)
Also feel free to give me any more info ( Your occupation, observations on boots, stories or accidents you have seen cause of improper gear)

Any feedback you want to give would be appreciated.

Thank You!

Attachments

• University_of_Houston_Seal.png
    University_of_Houston_Seal.png
    12.3 KB · Views: 10
I wear danner quarry loggers. I primarily climb with spikes so a good shank and about a 10 or 12 inch boot is ideal. A little more wear resistance in the rub zones would be nice (i.e. toe and heel)

A climbing boot with chainsaw protection that isn't clunkier n' hell. With a low profile thin toe. Maybe some type of rubber to reduce wear on ankle. Laces that are protected at the grommets.
Breathable.
Light.
Toe cap is a must.
Composite shank, STEEL toe.

Field of work : arboriculture, climber.