DIY Barrel Stoves...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChipMonger

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
All,

Im curious to hear what you all think of home made barrel stoves, you know, buy the kit of pieces and bolt them to a 55 gallon drum to make the "stove". I have a decently large shop that is currently unheated, and poorly insulated. I cant do much about the insulation issue as the rent is dirt cheap and the landlord isnt willing to insulate, however, there are provisions to put in a wood stove of some sort.

I figured a barrel stove might be a good way to go seeing as the parts kit is cheap, 55 gallon drums are plentiful, and i can feed it with plenty of pallet wood. So id like to hear what your opinions are, all of em' the good, the bad, the ugly of these types of "stoves" as i have zero experience with these and dont know anyone that does....So lets hear it.

One of the cabins at scout camp had one when I was a kid. That sucker put out an unreal amount of heat. It was only the single barrel type. The double barrel setup always gets my attention when flipping through the Northern tool fliers.

I have a 55 gallon stove in my garage and just put one in my hunting cabin a few weeks ago. They're cheap, simple to make, and put out lots of heat. I say go for it[emoji106]

First fire at the cabin
bc27c15b54f514393705a6b02d03afab.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have one in my garage, it heats great. I lined the bottom of mine with fire brick though, don't want it to wear through too soon.
I used red high temp rtv to act like a gasket when I bolted the parts on, not sure if it works or not as it was squashed quite thin but I wanted it.