Does Your Saw have a wide Powerband ??

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kurf

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm not sure mine does because I really don't know what the power band is all about. Is it powerband or power band? How do you determine if a saw has a wide powerband? Can you hear in the cut when the saw is in or out of the powerband. Does size really matter? Comments please.
Kurf

power-band_silicon1.jpg

Mine doesn't fit on any of my saws :sad: .

:D

I have a 2171 and a 372xpw, I wander what people think of the powerband on these 2 saws?.....Im not experienced enough to know which saws would have a wide powerband and which would be considered not to have a wide powerband.....

Powerband is loosely defined as the speeds over which the engine operates efficiently.

A saw with a wide or broad powerband is said to work well at both high and low engine/chain speeds. So you'd get good power if you weren't loading the saw too heavily and were letting it really fly and you'd also get good power if you were dogging the saw hard and the rpms were low.

Without having run a bunch of saws, it's kind of hard to determine your saws powerband. Most comparisons here of wide versus narrow powerbands are comparative; the strato saws have a "wide" powerband relative to the non strato saws of the same region.

Its pretty hard to find published power ratings. The german agricultural rating agency's PDF's sometimes have some information from their testing.

Hop on a ported water cooled 2 stroke, hit the gas, once you come to after falling off you will know exactly what a power band is LOLOL.

I think most of todays saws are pretty forgiving in terms of where they deliver power. i know my 660 that I ported doesn't like the low rpms, but it will do work up top. . .

Last edited by a moderator: