Dolmar 5100S blew up.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nipper

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

First post.

This is not troll or hate time, I need some advice...

I purchased a Dolmar 5100s last year and used it a few times to cut firewood. It was fun while it lasted.
I am not a pro mechanic (but a decent one) and I take very good care of my equipment. My last Craftsman saw lasted over 20 years so at this point I surely wont knock it.

I was cutting a log Friday and the 5100s just quit. Pulled the rope and knew there was no compression.

Took it to my dealer who is very good and probably one of the best in town and they told me the fuel mixture was correct. They removed the exhaust and the piston was scored badly. They are telling me this was due to an excessive amount of ethanol in the gas. They said the ethanol washes the oil off the piston.

I have no way of knowing the amount of ethanol in gasoline. I dont think this will be covered by warranty since its been a year.

Do you guys think this is right? If their explanation is correct I cant see purchasing a "nice" saw again. I cant know if the gasoline is good so it seems like I cant win this one. If this is true then all I can do is buy cheap saws and throw them away.

Personally I would think the engine and oil manufacturers should know what kind of gas is out there and create their products accordingly.

$450.00 down the drain...... :bang:

Are you guys seeing this issue with fuel? Seems like a bunch of 2-cycles would be dead if this is the case. All my other 2 cycle engines are fine using the same gas.

I've read here where people are sayiing to watch out for ethanol. All is not lost though you can buy a new piston and cylinder for around 200ish. If that is someting your intersted in doing I will glady take it off your hands:)