Excessive Heat Milling with a husky 288xp?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ridgerunner97

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Anyone have any experience milling with a husky 288xp lite, I am new to chainsaw milling as are my friends and we were doing a 16in diameter 7ft long cherry the other night when my saw started to smoke out of the flywheel cover slots. Only third cut and let saw cool for 20min between cuts. Haven't had the problem before. I stopped pulled the top cover off the saw and there was no chips or anything inside although it looked like the cover over the muffler was starting to turn black like it was burning. No deforming though. Any tips to modify the top plastic cover over the muffler to reflect heat, or general tips would be greatly appreciated. Im trying to not destroy my equipment and maximize my efforts. Thanks

From what I have learned a sharp chain is the most important thing. Listen to your saw. I just burned up my Husqvarna 3120 and I am learning the hard way what not to do.

Good luck

yeah i touched the chain up after the second cut, so i ruled that out, my filter was brand new and the fuel was mixed perfectly and im running 93 octane sunoco fuel it was fresh so i counted that out, and i wasnt forcing the saw so i don't know what she was doing but it was cutting fast as hell we were doing 2ft a minute which from what ive read is damn fast in hardwood. It is just normal chisel chain too. Im very sorry to hear about your beast taking a dump. I picked my 288 up for a lil over 300 bucks so there are some more sweethearts out there im on the prowl for an older husky 2100 or 3120xp to mill with. Thanks for the insight, im new to the site and am agog in all the knowledge floating around here.