gage, pitch and related stuff.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daninvan

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm not a newbie to milling, but I realize that my knowledge of the technical side of the equipment needs improving.

Currently I am running a Husky 2100 with 3/8" pitch and .058" gage on a home made Alaskan type mill with a 36" bar. I want to upsize to a bigger bar, probably 60". (I know that the 2100 is under-rated for this size bar, but this is part of a plan to also upgrade at a later time to a 3120)

I understand what gage and pitch are for a chain. (http://www.granberg.com/ripping_chain.html)

My current Oregon bar is stamped ".058 / 1.5 404". The nose is stamped 3/8".

I also have a line on a Silvey Razur Sharp II. I'm thinking of switching to using a square grind.

This brings me to the following questions:

1) Why is the bar stamped 404 on it? I had thought that it could run any pitch chain as long as the chain was .058 gage?

2) Going to the much longer bar, should I plan to upgrade to a .063 gage for strength/safety? I'll still keep the pitch at 3/8.

3) If I do the change to .063, will I need a different sized sprocket in the saw?

4) Do I need to buy a particular style of chain (eg chisel) to switch to square grind, or can I just buy anything and create the square grind with the Silvey? I.e. the Granberg ripping chain, or regular Oregon chain ground back to 5 degrees or so.

Thanks in advance!

Dan