Growing Organic Fruit and Nut Trees from Bareroot Stock

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Run Forrest Run

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
:D

Hello All,

I am a newbie to the board and to the growing / nursery business. (My background for the business is basically being a dang good gardener and a decent business owner (non-growing related business) looking to move up into a “growing” business.)

I have 40 acres in northwest Arkansas and I want to specialize in “food” trees, i.e., trees that bear fruit and nuts, organically grown in containers on my land.

I came to the decision while hearing from others who took the UofA master gardeners certification this past go 'round who were interested in turning a profit from their work and that got the old wheels turning for me as far as what I could do viably.

(And since I don’t have the soil or the chutzpah to fight it out every week with those other dang good gardeners at the local farmer’s markets with their garden produce – but yet - I do want to make money and grow something that is important to me – and my heart and talents lay with “food” trees; so I have made my decision.)

My plan is simple, (sell’em for more than I got in them), by buying quality bareroot seedling stock and growing it up into profitable trees. (Easy enough, however, the devil always seems to be in the details between point a and point b – that’s why I’m reaching out to y’all.)

So I am open to Any and All advice about starting up. (From the do’s and do not do’s to the nuts and bolt of making this endeavor profitable from a growers stand point – as I think I have the legal and taxes down pat at this point.)

Thanks in advance,

“Run Forrest Run”

(And I would especially love to hear from any and all growers / nursery owners in north west Arkansas with help, advice, ideas, tips or whatever.)