Help choosing the right chainsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brand preference?

• Stihl

Votes: 11 37.9%
  • Husqvarna

Votes: 14 48.3%
  • Remington

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 4 13.8%

• Total voters

topguntravis

Reaction score
Hi all,

Would love some feedback in assisting my research to finding the right chainsaw for my needs.

It's primary uses will be out in the forest, for basics like cutting up firewood and fallen trees, etc, and I will also be using it alot for basic bush building whether it be making a few campfire benches to the possibility of creating an alaskan mill and ripping some small to medium live edge slabs.

I am a carpenter and am good with tools and machinery and have some chainsaw experience, lately using my mates Remington RM4620 Outlaw 20". It seems to be of a calibre roughly what I'm looking for but am leaning towards a Stihl or Husqvarna. Perhaps a Stihl MS271 or Husqvarna 445.

Not looking to break the budget as it's more of a creative hobby i'm further getting into with the benefits of being a handy camping tool. So $500 would be the limit (looking at a new or near new purchase).

Any recommendations or directions as to what range to look into would help!

Thanks

60 cc stihl for firewood 036 360 361 and a 660 for milling

A 50cc saw would do for firewood, say a 550xp or 261 with an 18" bar and a 441/372xp for some light milling. What ever you do don't waste your money on a home owner or rancher type saw. You'll regret that you didn't wait and spend a small bit extra on a pro saw.

Sent from my SM-G389F using Tapatalk

Have you got any good dealership in your area? Personally I'd lean toward that regardless of brand.
Support deserving local businesses and have ready access to parts and service.