Homelite XL-12

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cipher

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hello im new here so take it easy on me lol,

anyhow, i have just got myself a Homelite XL-12 chainsaw for next to nothing due to it being seized solid, im a mechanic so its going to be a small project for me to get done over the next few months :) but is there anything that i should look out for when im stripping it down?

my dad has just told me when he was working in the woods he seen one of these but that was 40 years ago lol, it has the manual oiler and no chain break so how old would mine be?

They were fairly groundbreaking in their day in terms of power to weight ratio, and are still considered to be good firewood saws, notwithstanding the very sore thumb you'll have once you're finished using it. Lots of low end power and a wide, homeowner-friendly powerband. Great sound, too. I don't think the xl-12 EVER had a chain brake, nor did any of its derivatives which, by the way, included auto oiler versions, which are a bit more desirable. They did receive knuckle guards at some point, though. The only way to truly "DATE" your saw would be using the serial number near the on/off switch, presuming the cover on which the number lives is original.

New parts for this saw are very hard to come by.... you might get lucky, but you might just want to consider a parts saw to get things moving along, as there are lots of them out there.

It sounds like a good litle project... have you ever hear the acronym "CAD?" I'm just curious.

It sounds like a good litle project... have you ever hear the acronym "CAD?" I'm just curious.

nope i dont even know what it is, please tell :).