How to find a good climber for a side job?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KarlP

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I'm a self-taught advanced amateur in need of an expert.

For the last 15+ years, my family/close friends have come to me to take their limbs/trees down. I have gradually accumulated the skills, saws (30cc tophandle, 50cc, 85cc, Hayate, Sugoi, chainsaw on a rope, etc), climbing gear (New Tribe with Blake's on a split tail DRT or spikes), basic rigging gear (bull rope, small winch, older port-a-wrap, etc), and ways to get rid of wood (Bandit 65, hydraulic splitter, stove, insert, and outdoor fire pit).

There have been several trees I've suggested my friends/family get someone with a crane because they were WAY beyond me. Right now I want to get rid of some trees on my own property that don't need a crane for removal, but several of them need skills, experience, and balls (primary power lines scare me) that are beyond me. I'm hoping I don't need to spend 1000s on a full service tree company for a job I can almost do myself for 10s.

Two of my neighbors suggested a climber they used, but then one suggested I make sure he does the job before noon before he is too buzzed and the other neighbor mentioned he doesn't have insurance. I'm willing to pay more than that for my and their safety!

Looking to get the trees on the ground safely and at fairly low cost. Being neat, being able to work without my help, or being on a tight schedule are not requirements. So how does one find an insured sober climber that is both willing to do a chop-and-drop leave-a-mess job and also has the skills to get my trees without taking out themselves, the utility lines to the house, the primaries, deck, house, other trees I want to keep, etc?

In near Nashua NH/Lowell MA if it makes a difference.