husky 55 help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wrenchman

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I'm about to put the jug back on one of my 55s and was wondering if I should do any port work. I'v had hundreds of these saws apart but the dealer I worked for never did any hot rodding, so i'm new to porting. this one has the open port cyl. and will be a work saw. I'v already opened the ex. port on the outside to match the muffler. I was planning on a 1/2 hole between the muffler studs as this is a strait shot out from the port unless I'm told not to.

Thats a muffler mod, do a search on that, lots and lots and lots and lots of info about those one here!!!:) Many ways of doing it, then you have to adjust the "H" seting on the carb to richen it back up right. Up to 25% gains in power, probaly not that much on a saw that old, but.................

Port work involves grinding the cylinder and changing the timing, big difference between the two!!:cheers:

Again, lots of information about this as well!! Sorry I am beat tonight, I can't remeber off the top of my head, but I THINK you lower the intake and raise the exhaust ports 1mm or .040" and widen them up. But it's been a day, so others will corect my errors!

in genereal this assumption is correct..but to be easier..just WIDEN the EXHUAST to 70% piston diameter or skirt edge..whatever comes first...if be careful raising the exhuast...one wrong move,even by mistake will cost you another jug and having to start all over!! I BARELY avoided this myself...so id recommed just widen it for now...should make it more torquey...as for intake..i have forgotten..

this is what i remember being correct...i don't think porting is really dependent on muffler modding THAT much unless you are racing alky...