Hustling stump grinder work ...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cupocoffee

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I have been grinding stumps for several years, since I retired, and find it totally enjoyable. It seems that many folks are reluctant to talk about their practices and their charges. This is for those who don't mind sharing their stories. I have gotten all my work from advertising on Craigs List. It has been enough to give me quite a bit of change but I would starve to death if I was relying on it to make a living. I have found, in my area, the stump grinding business dries up from October until around the first of April. I know a lot of guys chase storms, especially tornados and hurricanes. I am retired and I won't be traveling too far from home but, here in Oklahoma, we tend to have our share of tornados. Do any of you just go knocking on doors? How are you getting work after people have just experienced devastation to their homes and most likely don't have extra money for grinding stumps? There are tons of stumps in the area I live in (in the country) but this is not really a good place to just knock on someone's door. I am curious how you guys hustle work? I don't need any smart remarks about how you aren't going to share your business practices as I have seen in some posts. Just a simple dialog for those who are willing to share their ideas. Thanks.

Like u i retired in 05 and started a mowing and stump grinding business, quit the
mowing this year as too much to do both, i currently have a bandit 2150xp and
trading it for a new bandit 2550 all hydraulic this week, have also used a pto grinder
and a vermeer sc252, i get my business from 4 diff tree services and adv on my
truck plus word of mouth, no other advertising..

I stay busy right thru the winter, but not as busy as march thru october, i do it